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Oct 12, 2023 

Rules of golf 2023 quiz 2 - Questions 

1. Your ball has come to rest on the putting green on hole 18.  Before you 
mark it, the ball starts rolling and moves closer to the hole.  Where do you 
play your next stroke from – the new location or old location? 

 
A. You move your ball to the original location, no penalty 

B. You play the ball as it lies in the new location, no penalty 

2. True or false – you can remove a stone that is behind your ball in a bunker 
before hitting a shot without penalty? 

 
A. True   

B. False 

3. On hole 4 your tee shot goes into the red penalty area left of the cart path and 
the ball lands on a metal drain.  You can play it where it lies for no penalty.  
Which of the following is also an option?  Check all that apply. 

 
A. Re-tee a new ball from the tee box – 1 penalty stroke (hitting 3) 

B. Go back on a line between that flag and the entry point where the 
ball went in, drop within one club length – 1 penalty stroke 

C. Drop within two club lengths of entry point where the ball went in – 
1 penalty stroke 

D. Drop the ball at the closest point of complete relief away from the 
metal grate, no closer to the hole – no penalty (relief from man-
made object) (hitting 2) 

4. Your ball is playable in a penalty area, but you’re not sure how the vegetation 
will affect your swing.  Can you stand in the penalty area, several yards from 
your ball, and make “test swings” through the vegetation to get a feel for the 
shot? 

 
A. Yes 

B. No



 

 

5. Your opponent in a competition hits an approach shot that appears to be 
blown off course by the wind.  Can you ask your opponent what direction the 
wind was coming from? 

 
A. Yes 

B. No, you incur a 2-stroke penalty for asking advice 

6. You mark your ball on the putting green, replace it, then a gust of wind 
moves it closer to the hole.  Where do you play your next stroke from – 
the new location or the old location? 

 
A. Put the ball back where it was when you marked it, no penalty 

B. Play the ball as it lies in the new location, no penalty 

7. True or false: You must re-drop the ball if it rolls outside of the relief 
area when taking relief from a cart path 

 
A. True 

B. False 

8. It’s a Saturday Match Play and Dee Dee & Trisha are playing against  Tina 
and another gal at Lake of the Pines.  It’s a huge hill to hit up to on a par 3.  
Dee Dee asks Tina what club she used. Tina answers that she hit an 8-iron.  
The correct ruling is:  

 
A. Dee Dee receives a two-stroke penalty 

B. Tina receives a two-stroke penalty 

C. Both players Dee Dee & Tina receive two-stroke penalties 

D. Neither Dee Dee nor Tina receives a penalty.  Asking what club 
someone hit is not advice. 



 

 
 
 

9. On Hole 4, Robbin hits her ball into the creek, the red water hazard on the 
right.  Which one is NOT a proper option for her to proceed under the rules? 

 
A. Taking the point where her ball last crossed the margin of the 

hazard, she drops within two club-lengths, no closer to the hole 
(one penalty shot) 

B. She goes back to where she previously made the stroke from 
outside the water hazard  (one penalty shot) 

C. She finds the nearest point of relief and drops within one-club 
length, no closer to the hole (one penalty shot) 

D. She plays the ball as it lies (no penalty) 

10. Ann hits the drive of her life on hole 17 but ends up in the bunker at the 
end of the fairway. ☹ She takes her stance in the bunker.  She changes her 
mind on club selection, leaves the bunker and returns with a different club.  
Before making the stroke, she rakes the bunker where she first took her 
stance because she wants to make a different type of stroke with a firmer 
stance. What is the ruling? 

 
A. No penalty 

B. She gets a one-stroke penalty 

C. She gets a two-stroke penalty  
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Rules of golf 2023 quiz 2 - Answers 

How well do you know the rules of golf?  Check the answers here. 

1.  B.  If you have not marked and replaced your ball on the green and it moves, play it 
from its new location.  Rule 13.1d 

2.  A.  True.  If your ball should move as a result of removing the stone, it’s a one-stroke 
penalty and you have to replace your ball.  Rule 12.2a 

3.  A. B. and C. are correct (the three options for taking relief when in a penalty area).  No 
free relief on anything inside a penalty area.   

4.  A. is correct.  So long as you don’t improve the condition for your next stroke, you can 
hack away, even grounding your club.  Rule 17/Rule 8.1a 

5.  A.  Yes, you can ask about wind direction, distances to objects, even locations of 
things on the course.  Advice: Definitions 

6.  A.  Once you mark your ball on a putting green and it moves, you have to replace it.  
Rule 3.1d 

7.  A.  True.  The ball must end up in the designated relief area.  Rule 14.3 

8.  C.  Both players receive two-stroke penalties.  Rule 8-1 

9.  C. is not an option.  Rule 26-1 

10.  C.  Two-stroke penalty.  Rule 12.2b(2)/Rule 8.1a(4) 
 


